Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Book Review: Next Move, You're Dead Trilogy by Linda Barton

Next Move, You’re Dead (The Trilogy)
By Linda Barton
Publisher: Deadly Reads, LLC
Published: Dec 15, 2013

Amazon Synopsis:

This is a Thriller of pure psychological evil, and heart-pounding bliss with a villain that you will LOVE to HATE. 

Erebus, an utterly diabolical, despicable, sick and completely twisted villain has chosen his opponents, in which they find themselves forced to face their personal demons as they try to solve the purpose of The Game. What is each participant's part to play as one of his unwilling partners in crime? 

With each move in The Game, they come closer to solving the mystery, but first they 
must prepare themselves to handle the challenges of The Game, or die trying. 
Are you prepared to join The Game? Enter if you dare, for there is no escape once it has begun! 

Book Links

My Thoughts:

This was an intense, gripping novel from the get-go. It’ll have you up all night because you won’t want to put it down. You can purchase each of the three books separately, but I would recommend getting all three together as they are not stand-alone novels, and you’ll want to read one after the other.

Book 1 (Next Move, You’re Dead) takes place in Philadelphia with John Cooper as the investigator of a set of murders. He has been chosen by Erebus, a very sick and twisted villain to be the Tracker in The Game he plays. As John tries to solve the mystery of who Erebus is, a number of murders and suicides occur in the city that are easily solved – too easily, too cut and dried. John begins to think that there is more going on than can be seen. And he has been getting these phone calls…. From someone who knows exactly what he is doing, almost before he does, everywhere he goes, and there is no record of the phone calls on his cell phone. Everyone believes John has lost contact with reality and John starts to doubt himself, and then things really get bad.

Book 2 (A New Game) finds us in Houston, Texas, with Detective Lucinda MacKey. After destroying John Cooper, Erebus has now moved on and has focused attention on Lucinda, making her the Tracker in his next Game. As she searches for a kidnapped child, she confides in her partner and friend Detective Rick Jameson about Erebus. Rick helps her prove that Erebus is a real person and not her imagination. Erebus is forced into a stalemate and leaves without destroying Lucinda.

Book 3 (Erebus) brings Erebus back to Philadelphia where he kidnaps John Cooper from the psychiatric hospital and then entices Lucinda into rescuing him. John’s long-time friend and boss Captain Tom Riggs partners with her and so Erebus then includes him in his deadly Game.

We also learn about Erebus’ history and how he came to be who he is. I particularly liked this book as it gave the opportunity to think about whether you believe a person who does evil things like serial murder has had some terrible thing happen to them in their past, or whether something in their personality has just “made them” be like that. You’ll have to make up your own mind.

This trilogy was very fast-paced and exciting. I liked John and his wife Kathy. Mac was a great character too. I loved the relationship she had with her partner and his family. I found Erebus to be exactly what the author created him to be – evil. I wasn’t even sure if he was a real person or not at the end of the first book.

I enjoyed Ms. Barton’s style of writing. It was easy to read and quite engaging. The way she wrote the speaking parts for the different characters, I could actually hear the differences in their speech patterns in my mind as they spoke.

This is definitely an adult fiction book, and there is use of some swearing and coarse language.  Some of the murder evidence may be a bit gruesome for some people.

I gave this novel 4 out of 5 stars.

Thanks to the author Linda Barton, who provided a copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.  A positive opinion was not required. All thoughts are my own.

About the Author:

I’ve done many different things in my life from working as a hair stylist, claims processor, to driving a Peterbilt Truck across the United States with my husband, Bob.
I published my first book, Next Move, You're Dead in March of 2011, and after of hours of arguing with the voices in my head, I now have five published books. While I never dreamed that I would be able to call myself an author, I must say that it has turned into one of the highlights of my life. I enjoy writing stories that pulls the reader in, and holds them captive until the last page.
Writing is a passion that has filled my life with so many rewards. I love interacting with the readers, and hearing what they want in a book. They have taught me how to be a better writer, and for that, I am truly grateful.
Bob and I live in a quiet little community in southeast Texas with our two dogs, and one crazy cat. Over the years, I have learned that life is an adventure, and to appreciate all the blessings it brings.

Contact the Author
Facebook  *  Twitter  *  Goodreads  *  Website


  1. Thank you so much for the review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed my trilogy.